All these restaurant chains have some vegan options on the menu. If you’re out on the town or away on a road trip and want a quick bite, stop in to one of these chains to fuel up. Follow the link for each chain to see a map of their locations in the Chico area.
Chipotle – If you enjoy burritos, Chipotle is a go-to chain for vegans. Order a vegetarian burrito or bowl (no cheese or sour creme) packed with black beans, pinto beans, rice (brown or white), guacamole, fajita vegetables, lettuce, corn, and your choice of salsas. Or try their Sofritas, shredded organic tofu braised with chipotle chilis, roasted poblanos, and a blend of aromatic spices. From the Chipotle website: “Our Sofritas is vegan and vegetarian approved. Our tortillas, vegetables, rice, beans, salsas, chips and guacamole, are vegetarian and vegan. Vegans should avoid our meats, cheese, sour cream and our chipotle-honey vinaigrette.”
Denny’s – Craving diner food? Denny’s is sure to satisfy with their delicious vegan hamburger (hold the mayo), hash browns or diced skillet potatoes with veggies, oatmeal, grits, and fresh fruit.
Papa Murphy’s Take ‘N’ Bake Pizza – Enjoy their thin crust Veggie deLITE or a delicious Gourmet Vegetarian pizza. Just ask for red sauce on your pie, no cheese, and no “herb & cheese blend” topping. When your pizza is ready to go in the oven, try topping it with some Daiya mozzarella style shreds. They’re so good! (Daiya vegan cheeses can be purchased at Raley’s, Safeway, Chico Natural Foods, and S&S Produce. See our Grocery Stores page for details.)
Pita Pit – Treat yourself to a satisfying salad or pita sandwich. There are four vegan sandwiches to choose from, all of which can be made as salads: Garden (your choice of veggies and sauce), Falafel (yummy chickpea patties on the basic Garden sandwich, no cheese), Hummus (creamy chickpea spread on the basic sandwich, no cheese), and Spicy Black Bean (a delicious black bean patty with your choice of veggies and sauce, no cheese). Be aware than many of Pita Pit’s sauces contain eggs and/or dairy products, so ask a manager to specify which ones are vegan.
Subway – The world’s largest restaurant chain barely makes the list. Order a veggie delight (without cheese, without mayo, plus mustard, sweet onion sauce or oil and vinegar) with chips and a drink.
Taco Bell – Taco Bell is a cheap option for late night eats. Order a “fresca” bean burrito (add rice and guacamole for a heartier meal) with a side of fiesta potatoes (no cheese and sour cream). Here is a nice resource for ordering vegan at Taco Bell. And here is a list of 26 certified vegan ingredients that Taco Bell serves. These items are certified vegan by the American Vegetarian Association.
March 2017 update – their rice recipe has changed and is no longer vegan. The company has promised to re-release a vegan rice offering in the future, but did not designate a date. The links posted in the write-up above may be obsolete by now – you can go to the Taco Bell website here to doublecheck ingredients. Get your act together, Taco Bell!